A Little Miracle

image

Isn’t crazy how quickly things can change? Two days ago I was having one of the roughest days I’ve had in a long time. I was feeling hopeless, helpless and like maybe moving was a mistake. Then, as I was about to turn in for the night, I got one of the happiest calls ever. My sister-in-law was in labor and my nephew was coming over to stay with us for a while! I was nervous and excited. My nephew is a bit older than my son, so we made sure the house was as ready as possible for the two boys. My brother pulled up to my house, and then I was in charge of a soon-to-be big brother. He grinned at me and I couldn’t possibly feel sorry for myself anymore. My nephew knows me! He loves me. He’s not scared to be away from his mom and dad because we are his family too.

I don’t necessarily believe in God, but I don’t think that life is a random series of events. I think that my husband and I are learning a valuable lesson, and knowing us, that lesson has to be hard or we won’t take it seriously. But just as it started feeling too hard, and I started to crumble, a miracle showed up. A perfect little baby boy was born and I had the privilege to help everything go smoothly. That makes me feel really good.

My son and his cousin spent their time together pushing chairs around the kitchen, rolling a ball around and crawling after it, and making me pretty nervous as they cruised around the furniture. I had a blast watching them learn together. It’s hard not to smile when a baby party is going down!

I’m still not sure what is ahead for me. My husband and I have a lot of hard work to do, but we are going to be okay. I am so thankful for my family, and even though I miss my Oregon family terribly, I know that my husband, son and I are where we need to be to thrive.

Leave a Reply

