It Doesn’t Cost Money to Lose Weight

                                 

 

I am so happy to say that I am off my anti-depressants. My hormones seem to have balanced themselves out, for the most part. I am focusing on portion sizes, eating only when I’m hungry, eating lots of veggies, and drinking 3 liters of water a day. I have stopped drinking wine (gasp!) unless it is a special occasion. There’s really no shortage of special occasions around this time of year, my birthday being one of them. This year for my birthday, I am giving myself the gift of losing 10 pounds. 

This year funds are tight, so there is no extra money for a gym membership, fancy shakes, or a weight loss program that costs money. I went to YouTube for workout videos. I found the Body Rock 21 Day Boot Camp Challenge. It is awesome! I didn’t buy any of the fancy equipment she uses in the videos. I use the hand weights that I already have and the furniture in my living room. I have to modify some of the moves, but I always get a killer workout. There is a burnout you can pay for to do after each video, but for me, at this point in my fitness, the workouts are plenty! 

I’m not sure what has changed, but I feel different and ready to challenge my body. I’m feeling more settled and in a good place as a stay-at-home mom. My husband found a job where he is a valued member of a team, and is working his way up to a position where we wouldn’t have to struggle financially. Every day isn’t such a challenge anymore. Sure, it’s still scary at times and the loss of my income still makes me feel insecure, but I am not in panic mode all the time. It feels awesome. 

Before I found the Body Rock videos, I was feeling pretty discouraged. I was training for a 5k with the Couch to 5k app, and doing Jillian Michaels workout videos. I wasn’t focused on nutrition, and because my workouts were too hard for my fitness level, I was burning out. I wanted desperately to drop hundreds of dollars for “It Works” wraps and pills to see instant results to give my motivation a jump start. I wanted to sign up for Beach Body workouts and Shakeology to be a part of a weight loss system. I sorta wanted to run to Walgreens and get unhealthy metabolism boosting pills! Well, my bank account told me to think again. 

I’m doing this the old fashioned way, and I’m really excited about it. I know how to make fitness a part of my lifestyle. This month’s meal plan got a healthy make over. Breakfast got a little bit bigger, and lunch got a little bit smaller. I have healthy snacks on hand and dinners are heavy on the veggies. I’m doing my workouts every day and I’m already down 6lbs. I am looking toward to celebrating my birthday a little bit smaller and a lot healthier. 

Leave a Reply

